With this first project, we created a self-portrait of ourselves. I decided the best approach for myself would be to create a digital illustration. I wanted to make something I would be proud of in the end because I haven’t really created something like this for myself for over a year. To me, this project is a means of starting over and the beginning of something wonderful.

This project was created using Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator, along with Systemax PaintTool Sai to create my line art. I prefer Sai to Photoshop when it comes to general drawing and line art because it offers an easy to use vector line tool that is far less complicated than Adobe’s standard pen tool. I also used a graphics tablet to do my drawing and coloring.

I wanted a piece that featured both light and dark elements since I usually only feature the latter. For once in a self-portrait, I smiled. It’s interesting taking so many sad looking pictures of yourself, and one day you draw yourself smiling. My detached head was just for fun, but honestly, after creating this, I see it as myself finally letting loose and freeing the creativity I’ve kept locked away for so long. The glitch effects in my first piece are just that because they’re fun to create in Photoshop.

For over a year, I locked myself away in my room doing nothing productive. I was slowly rotting away, until one day my best friend convinced me it was time to try school again. One more time with feeling. I don’t know what I want you to take away from seeing my work. Perhaps that it’s never too late to go out and do something. That something you thought you once lost a long time ago actually never left and it has always been inside you. The urge to create something. Not for others, but for yourself. Even when you feel at your lowest, you can always come back shining your brightest.


-Emily

