Not Digital Design related, but I wanted to share some pictures of my projects from last semester. These were from my 3D design class and I really do enjoy these pieces. The first one is a soft sculpture of a leaking television. The body is made from cardboard with black felt glued onto the surface. I then stitched the felt together where there was a separation to give the appearance of a Frankenstein look. The screen is holographic leather I found online. I made the dripping gunk out of puffy paint and the dials are painted bottle caps.

The first one is a soft sculpture of a leaking television. The body is made from cardboard with black felt glued onto the surface. I then stitched the felt together where there was a separation to give the appearance of a Frankenstein look. The screen is holographic leather I found online. I made the dripping gunk out of puffy paint and the dials are painted bottle caps.

The second piece is actually an animated sculpture. I used a flower pot that I painted to look very old and brittle and filled it with reindeer moss. Hidden under the moss is my phone that plays a looping animation of my eyes that I created frame by frame in Photoshop. The piece itself is a recreation of an old animation I did 2 years ago, and the 3D surroundings give it the creepiness I couldn’t achieve on a computer.

Again, I am very proud of these pieces and thought I’d share them on my student blog since they are school related. I’m hoping that I’ll find the time to polish these up and use them in my CPR review (whenever that happens).

-Emily Holliman

